COOKHAM BOOK CLUB


The Cookham Book Club was started in 2015, we only have a few members, but we are keen to allow others to join. We meet every month (not August) at 20:00).

 

The Tattooist of Auschwitz Heather Morris

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.

So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

 

If you would like to come along the next meeting is Thursday 21st March 2019 at The Old Swan Uppers in Cookham at 20:00

   

We have a Face Book Group 'Cookham Book Club' which is closed to members only. 



For further information contact 

Martin Garrett

martin.glenorchy@btinternet.com


home    top of page You may need to click more than onceback    any suggestions